Campaign for Sports-Free TV


Maryland College Sports-TV Initiative

The “Maryland College Sports-TV Initiative” is part of the national Campaign for Alcohol-Free Sports TV to reduce exposure of young people to alcohol advertising during college sports telecasts. The Maryland initiative is encouraging Maryland college officials to eliminate alcohol ads during their sports broadcasts.

Brochure (pdf)

The College Commitment

The College Commitment is a pledge signed by college and university administrators who agree to work at the college, athletic conference, NCAA, and Bowl Championship Series levels to eliminate alcohol advertising from college sports telecasts. View the schools who have signed the Commitment.

The following Maryland schools have signed the College Commitment:
Bowie State University
Columbia Union College
College of Notre Dame of Maryland
Coppin State University
Frostburg State University
Goucher College
Hood College
Johns Hopkins University
Loyola College
McDaniel College
Morgan State University
Mount St. Mary's University
Salisbury University
St. Mary's College of Maryland
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
Washington College

The following Maryland schools have NOT signed the College Commitment:
Stevenson University
Towson University
United State Naval Academy
University of Maryland, College Park

Current Endorsers

Annapolis Area Christian School (Severn)
Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs (Annapolis)
Anne Arundel County Public Schools (Annapolis)
Archdiocese of Baltimore, Division of Catholic Schools (Baltimore)
Arundel High School (Linthicum)
Calvert Hall College High School (Baltimore)
Catonsville High School (Catonsville)
Centennial High School (Ellicott City)
Chopticon High School (Morganza)
Communities Mobilizing for Change on Alcohol (Cambridge)
Cristo Rey Jesuit High School (Baltimore)
Dorchester County Department of Corrections (Cambridge)
Drawing the Line on Under 21 Alcohol Use (Wheaton)
Drug Free Caroline Coalition (Denton)
Easton High School (Easton)
Fairmont Heights High School (Capitol Heights)
Frederick County Public Schools (Frederick)
Garrett County Health Department (Oakland)
Glenelg High School (Glenelg)
Huntingtown High School (Huntingtown)
Kent County High School (Worton)
Kent County Public Schools (Chestertown)
The Key School (Annapolis)
Linganore High School (Frederick)
Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association (Pasadena)
Maryland PTA (Glen Burnie)
Old Mill High School (Millersville)
Parent Network (Baltimore)
Parkdale High School (Riverdale)
Patuxent High School (Lusby)
Perry Hall High School (Baltimore)
Pocomoke High School (Pocomoke)
Queen Anne’s County Alcohol & Drug Abuse Services (Centreville)
SADD Chapter of Eleanor Roosevelt High School (Greenbelt)
Sandy Spring Friends School (Sandy Spring)
Smithsburg High School (Smithsburg)
Somerset County Public Schools (Westover)
South Carroll High School (Sykesville)
Southern Garrett High School (Oakland)
Southern High School (Harwood)
Talbot County Public Schools (Easton)
Talbot Partnership for Alcohol & Other Drug Abuse Prevention (Easton)
The John Carroll School (Bel Air)
Thomas Stone High School (Waldorf)
Walkersville High School (Walkersville)
Washington County Public Schools (Hagerstown)
Westlake High School (Waldorf)


For more information or to endorse the Maryland College Sports-TV Initiative, contact Tracy Downs at or (202) 777-8322.


Campaign for Alcohol-Free Sports TV

Center for Science in the Public Interest

1220 L St. NW Suite 300  |  Washington, D.C.  20009

Phone: (202) 777-8322 |  Fax: (202) 265-4954  |  Email: